How soon should I hire an attorney after a potentially criminal activity?

Standard

About six months ago I got a call shortly after 1:00 AM in the morning. The person of the phone had just been involved in a shooting. The police were on the way. I was able to arrive at the scene shortly after the police. I was not allowed to speak to my client. But, I was able to start gathering information. The detective in charge let me know the person that my client shot would live and that there was a person at the scene with my client. By 8:00 AM we had our private investigators gathering information from the witnesses and the scene. As a result of prompt action we were able to gather evidence within 24 hours that would not have been available after a couple of days. This evidence provided proof that our client was defending a victim of an assault and that he was not a criminal but a hero. With the evidence we had collected, it was easy for the grand jury to no bill the case. In addition to not being charged with a crime, my client stated that the police department at all times treated him in a polite and professional matter. If you are a potential party at a crime scene, do not hesitate to retain an attorney right away. The attorney will be able to help put a plan together which will make a very difficult time in your life a little easier. Daniel L Morris, The Morris Law Firm, (214)357-1782, info@themorrisfirm.net

Leave a Reply

