Possession of Marijuana, in Texas

Standard

“High Times” should be called expensive times. While casual marijuana use has become more common place in this generation, the State’s tolerance for its possession has not. In Texas, it is a crime to knowingly or intentionally possess a usable quantity of marijuana. The severity of the charge depends on the amount of marijuana. For example, possessing 2 oz or less of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable up to 180 days in county jail and up to a $2,000 fine. Moreover, the state may have your drivers’ license suspended for up to 180 days with a drug conviction, including a conviction for possession of marijuana. You can also be required to perform up to a maximum of 100 hours of community service. If you have been charged with possession of marijuana or another controlled substance, contact the Dallas office of the Morris Law Firm at (214)357-1782 or via email at info@themorrisfirm.net

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s